Margaret Ellen White Award

Award Deadlines:

Nominations will be reviewed by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) at their November meeting. Graduate students need to submit nominations through their GPSS department senators. The GPSS meeting schedule and list of senators can be found online on the GPSS website. Nominations are due to the department GPSS senators on November 11th. GPSS senator(s) should submit their nominations to the GPSS PAG chair by November 18th.

Winner(s) will be notified by end of April

Award presented: At the Fall University Awards Convocation in September.

Contact person:
Charlene Shaw
1137 Pearson Hall
Graduate College

Nomination Form: click here

This award was established in 1985 by Margaret Ellen White to show her appreciation for excellent guidance and encouragement of graduate students. Miss White, now deceased, graduated from Iowa State's College of Home Economics and served as an administrative assistant in the Graduate College for thirty-seven years.


The purpose of this award is to recognize superior performance by a member of The Graduate Faculty each year at the University Awards Convocation held during the fall semester, with a prize for $2,500 and a plaque. The award recognizes the effectiveness of major professors who serve as mentors; who enrich the student-professor relationship by support and attention to detail which enables students to finish their work in a timely and scholarly manner. Major professors considered for this award are also expected to provide professional assistance to their students beyond graduation.


The Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) has the responsibility of providing nominations to the Dean of the Graduate College no later than February 1st each year. Each department is entitled to one nomination, which will be submitted by the GPSS senator(s) from that department. In case there are multiple nominations at a department, GPSS senators at that department should evaluate those nominations and finally select only one that is forwarded to GPSS PAG chair. Departments with One senator can perform that evaluation with their graduate department leadership. For departments with no GPSS representation, GPSS will accept nominations from any graduate student from those departments. In addition, the GPSS may nominate two others at large. Nominations will be collected and screened by the GPSS which will then forward the top six nominations to the Dean of the Graduate College for further review.

Nominations are restricted to members of The Graduate Faculty who have chaired at least six graduate student committees at Iowa State University. The Dean of the Graduate College appoints an evaluation panel of graduate faculty and 2 members of GPSS to select the successful awardee each year. The panel solicits endorsements from former and current graduate students of the nominees. The replies and other corroborative information will be used in the final decision. The process of selection is generally completed by early April and the winner(s) notified by the end of April. The award is presented at The Fall University Awards Convocation.

A list of recipients for the Margaret Ellen White Graduate Faculty Award is also available.

Click here to read the frequently asked questions for the Margaret Ellen White Graduate Faculty Award.

If you have questions, please contact Charlene Shaw at .